I know we are supposed to think big and mainstream. On the occasions I’ve tried to do that, I’ve realized I’m just about one-on-one, one person, one life, one relationship at a time to make it a better world.”

– Mollie Lowery

Board of Directors

Mary Kirchen-Founder

Neil Navin-Board President

Neil's Bio

Neil Navin is vice president, clean energy innovations for Southern California Gas Company (SoCalGas), a Sempra regulated California utility. He oversees SoCalGas’ comprehensive portfolio of clean energy strategies, innovations and projects to support the utility’s role as a long-term leader enabling California’s clean energy future. Navin’s focus is on delivering tangible innovations and projects in new and growing markets, including renewable natural gas, hydrogen and fuel cells, all of which are aligned to SoCalGas’ mission, strategy and sustainability plan.

Previously, Navin was vice president of construction for SoCalGas and SDG&E.

Since joining SoCalGas in 2014, Navin has served in a number of increasingly responsible management positions, including director of major projects and director of storage risk management. Prior to this, Navin held project management positions with the Fluor and Parsons companies. His previous experience included work on sulfur recovery, gas compression processing, oil and gas production, refining, pipeline engineering, chemical weapons destruction, biogas treatment, fuel cell power generation, and petrochemical plant projects throughout the United States, Middle East and Europe.

Navin sits on the boards of Housing Works and Friends of Ballona Wetlands. He holds a bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from McGill University in Montréal, Québec, Canada. 

Gary Blasi-Board Vice President

Ann-Sophie Morrissette-Secretary

Yalda Noorzai-Treasurer

Grace Dyrness-Board Member

Grace's Bio

Grace Roberts Dyrness is a community development consultant and professor. She has taught at the University of Southern California, Azusa Pacific University, and Fuller Theological Seminary, as well as institutions in Philippines, Indonesia and Kenya, with a focus on public service in an urban setting, social context of planning, community and transformational development, and sustainable tourism. Her approach has been to use advocacy planning and participatory approaches to engage people in communities in order to envision their own future and chart a path towards it.

She has a graduate degree in urban anthropology from the Ateneo de Manila University and a doctorate in urban planning and development studies from the University of Southern California. Her doctoral work focused on the growth of the informal sector of the Los Angeles economy, particularly on a project with the city’s street vendors.

Grace has had many years of experience working in the nonprofit sector in developing nations and inner cities within the United States. For eight years she lived in Manila, Philippines where she lived among urban squatter women in order to better understand how they cope with life at the margins.  For the past 20 years she has been engaged in participatory action research and development in Kenya, Ethiopia, Tanzania, Djibouti, Argentina, Mexico and Philippines. It has been through these international and local experiences that she has gained a deeper understanding of what conditions are needed in order for communities to thrive and forge a sustainable future for the next generation.

Agi Orsi-Board Member

Linda Peacore-Board Member

Saba Mwine-Board Member

James Thing-Board Member

Housing Works California

Rod Stephens-Board Member

Rod's Bio

Rod Stephens was born in Los Angeles and was ordained a priest for Los Angeles in 1974, with a Bachelor of Arts in Philosophy, a Masters of Divinity in Theology. Rod became a member of the Immaculate Heart Community in 2005 and is member of the Catholic Worker community in Orange County. Early after its establishment Rod has been an active supporter of Housing Works and has been a Board Member for several years. Rod currently lives in Orange County with his spouse, Howard Seller, Professor Emeritus of California State University at Fullerton.

Our Mobile Integrated Service Team serves almost

 

individuals throughout Los Angeles County in permanent supportive housing.

Staff

Celina Alvarez

Executive Director

calvarez@housingworksca.org

Sergio Perez

Chief of Operations

sperez@housingworksca.org

Karina Martinez

Fiscal Manager

fiscal@housingworksca.org

Robert Morrison

Director of Programs

robertm@housingworksca.org

James Moran

Associate Director of Programs

jmoran@housingworksca.org

 

Marlene Muro

Central Region Supervisor

MIST – Hollywood

mmuro@housingworksca.org

Shawn Bailey

South Los Angeles Region Supervisor

sbailey@housingworksca.org

David Mix

Special Projects Supervisor

dmix@housingworksca.org

Nancy Delira

Grants, Enrichment and Peer Specialist Manager

ndelira@housingworksca.org

 

Shara Blue Mathes

Lead Case Worker

MIST- Central

smathes@housingworksca.org

Jayden Alexander

Life Skills Advocate- Central

jalexander@housingworksca.org

Jonathan Lipp

MIST– Central

jlipp@housingworksca.org

 

Erica Ramirez

MIST – Central

eramirez@housingworksca.com

 

Dewayne Lynch

MIST- Central

dlynch@housingworksca.org

Judyth Ballesteros

Lead Case Worker

MIST– South Los Angeles

jb@housingworksca.org

 

Geneva Ramos

MIST– South Los Angeles

gramos@housingworksca.org

Leslie Macas

MIST– South Los Angeles

lmacias@housingworksca.org 

 

 

Maria de Jesus Gomez

Lead Case Worker

MIST– 88th & Vermont

mgomez@housingworksca.org

Sally Bishai

MIST– Stanford

sbishai@housingworksca.org

 

Lizeth Prado

MIST- Stanford 

lprado@housingworksca.org

 

Valerie Johnson

MIST- Florence Mills

vjohnson@housingworksca.org

 

Autumn McBroom

MIST- 88th and Vermont

amcbroom@housingworksca.org

Roslynn Stevens

MIST- South Los Angeles

rstevens@housingworksca.org

 

John Evans III

MIST- Young Burlington

jevans@housingworksca.org

Dorothy Edwards

 Enrichment Service Coordinator

Teague Terrace

dedwards@housingworksca.org

Billie Downey

MIST– T. Bailey Manor

bdowney@housingworksca.org

 

Trina Cruse

MIST– Teague Terrace

tcruse@housingworksca.org

Celia Guerrero

MIST- T. Bailey Manor

cguerrero@housingworksca.org

Scott DesJardins

MIST– Palo Verde

scottd@housingworksca.org

 

 

Will Jackson

MIST- Pasadena Outreach and Housing Navigator

wjackson@housingworksca.org 

 

Matthew Villa

MIST– Hospital Housing Navigator

mvilla@housingworksca.org

 

Cindy Villasenor

MIST- Hospital Housing Navigator

cvillasenor@housingworksca.org

 

Darron Whitaker

Outreach & Community Services Specialist

dwhitaker@housingworksca.org

 

Michael De La Torre

Outreach & Community Services Specialist

mdelatorre@housingworksca.org

 

Amy Pelch

Services and Data Coordinator

apelch@housingworksca.org

 

Amelia Wallace

Administrative Assistant

awallace@housingworksca.org

Michael Kearns

Writing Works

Get Involved. Be Inspired.